PDA

View Full Version : New to pistols, new CM

jagger85
01-15-2012, 01:02 PM
I got my new CM9. I am new to the forum, as I am new to pistols. I have done a lot of shotgun shooting and just until recently, maybe two years, have I gotten more and more interested in pistol shooting.
I finally decided to get a small gun. I went through the debate between the LCP, LCR, sig238, and the Bodyguard for a long time. Non of them really "clicked" with me, and then I found the CM9 :). So far I've got 250 rounds in it. When I got it, I cleaned it good and took it to the range. I read the manual and was aware of the "breaking in" factor.
I shot 150 of WWB 115. and it was painful. I had a few FTFs, a few FTE, twice where the slide didn't lock after the last shot, and one round that the pin didn't hit the primer hard enough. I compared it to other fired rounds and also confirmed it with the range master. is this common for the break in?
The WWB was pretty ugly when I got it out of the box. the casings were tarnished and looked like they had sat outside in the elements. and when I shot it, it was really dirty. There were heavy deposits half way down my mag.
The range master suggested I shoot something that runs a little hotter. He tried to tell me remington was hotter, but then I looked around and that was 90% of what he was selling!!! haha. So I looked and checked out manufactures websites and found FIOCCHI. It wasn't much hotter but but the price was still comparable.
I shot 100rounds of it. It went flawless. And it was clean shooting it, and not to mention clean out of the box. the only heavy deposits were at the end of the barrel.
What are your guys' thoughts on my adventure?

O'Dell
01-15-2012, 01:20 PM
First, welcome to KT. If you haven't lurked around here much, you're find we a bit different from most of the 'Brand' gun forums. In KT people usually say what they think, and don't toe the company line.