PDA

View Full Version : Any women have opinions on the CM9 or CW9?

rvanpelt
03-01-2012, 02:41 PM
Hi. A newbie here and hope to help my wife own a Kahr after this weekend. Our son is in law enforcement and recommends the 9mm over the 380 for self defense. My wife is considering the Kahr CW9 and/or the CM9 for a ccw. They both fit her hand ok but I'm wondering about the recoil. Is the CW9 the choice of more ladies because of its couple extra ounces or is there a significant difference? Also, the CM9 that we looked at in the store was a little stiffer than the CW9 for her to rack a shell. Has this been a problem for any ladies? I'm thinking after the 200 round break in period, this may not be a problem but thought I'd ask. She likes the smaller size of the CM but sees advantages of both. She has shot my 45 Glock model 36 but it is physically too big for a women's ccw and recoil is too much for her and eventually may cause her to flinch.
Thank you for any advice and opinions.:)
Rod van Pelt

toddmog
03-01-2012, 02:58 PM
My wife and I both had CW9's and she liked it a lot. She doesn't care for my new CM9. She found the CW easier to manipulate and shoot. I like the CM better for carry, but the CW was a little more fun to shoot. Although I really enjoy blasting with the CM.

cjjohn
03-01-2012, 03:04 PM
Rod,
I just got a CM9 and I can tell you my wife hates it. The size and trigger are all ok, but she can't rack the slide. I don't know if it iwll ever break in / loosen up enough for her to be comfortable with, time will tell I guess.

Bawanna
03-01-2012, 03:08 PM
If your wife can manage the slide racking, mag changes etc I suspect the smaller would always be the better choice far as carry comfort and concealability. For just plain shooting any size increase is a plus. While there's not a lot of weight difference the CW does give more to hold onto.