PDA

View Full Version : MK9 elite vs MK9

Jonah0207
02-10-2010, 03:18 PM
I have been considering a Kahr 9mm and was wondering . . .
1. Is the elite simply a cosmetic enhancement or is it functionally better?
2. I know that the elite model has a polished feed ramp . . . does that help with the function or what??? If it helps the feeding process it seems like they would want to do it on all their pistols????
If someone knows I'd appreciate your help.
Thanks,
Jonah 0207

jocko
02-10-2010, 05:06 PM
merely cosmetic but certainly nice. All kahrs feed ramps are polished also. Nothing different inside either gun.

quikduk
02-10-2010, 06:17 PM
I am new to the Kahr but I thought the MK Elite series had the following:

- Polished feed ramp
- Polished trigger (smoother too)
- Beveled mag well
- Polished frame & slide with laser engraved markings

I thought the Elite was the only one with these options...

In-Yo-Grill
02-11-2010, 06:40 AM
For some reason I thought the "Elite" had a different trigger as well. I hate it when I give into rumors...lol

jocko
02-11-2010, 09:05 AM
the mag well thing is right , the polished trigger is basically the external part of the trigger, not internal for smoothness. engraving is different also, again internals are all the same, cosmetic at best. a nice gun. Hard to even tell on the beveled mag wells IMO.

Externally the gun looks better, internally the gun is the same. all kahrs today have polished feed ramps.. Certainly not taking away any thing on the elite, It is one beautiful gun.. You don't see them in dealer show caes hardly ever either, due to price..

In-Yo-Grill
02-11-2010, 11:09 AM
So if I had a chance to get a brand new MK9 Elite for $600 is that a really good deal?

Even Arizona Gun Runners lists theirs for $717.00

PETE14
02-11-2010, 11:14 AM
Bought mine 3 months ago for $690 and I thought I was pretty lucky after looking for one for a month. Had to have it shipped to MO from PA.

quikduk
02-11-2010, 05:57 PM