PDA

View Full Version : Reloading update

melissa5
04-04-2012, 03:46 PM
So I've been reloading for around 8 months with a Lee Classic Turret and it's been slow but steady. Now, there is a broken plastic part that the index rod goes through and I have to index it by hand. :( Technical support is sending me a new part since the press is still under warranty. :)

For a month or so I've been thinking that I need a progressive press since I need to reload a lot of rounds for competition - 110 rounds for every gun that I shoot. Later this month, I plan to shoot 6 guns. So, I ordered a Lee Loadmaster and finally got it set up right. You guys weren't kidding when you told me that you had to be a little mechanical to get a progressive set up. The case feeder was a PITA. Anyway, I've loaded 300 rounds so far and am a lot happier with it than the turret press.

I've also changed some things in my reloading routine so that I don't have any squibs or KB's. First, I've been separating my cases by brand and weighing the finished round to be doubly sure that they all have powder. Then, I'm using my barrel as a case gauge. Third all questionable rounds are going into a container to be taken apart later. Last, when the round has been weighed and gauged, I place them in trays primer side up so that I can visually inspect the primer depth. I've found a couple where the primer was in upside down.

I have a few questions for those who have a Loadmaster or Pro 1000. Does the case collator work really good? Do you use the explosion shield?

DKD
04-04-2012, 04:03 PM