PDA

View Full Version : Newbie with concerns/questions

paisa777
02-17-2010, 12:18 PM
Hi all, so I'm new to this site considering I just found it today. I'm new to guns and CCW but just recently purchased my first gun, a Glock 19. A friend of mine loves his P9 and suggested I get one for CC. Naturally, I took to the web to look for reviews....

after reading, I started to develop concerns over the reliability. Read too many people having problems with Kahrs and it was starting to scare me away. It got even worse when I read that many problems came from the PM series, which is the one I want. Do Kahrs really have that many issues?

As for my questions, I'm still undecided as to which gun I want. If anything, I want the PM just because of the small size and can carry it anywhere. But now I'm stuck deciding between the 9mm or the 40mm. I keep hearing some say the .40 has too much of a recoil, while others say it's not that bad. Then people talk about the cost of having a .40.

Please guys, help me decide. If anything, I wanted to just say hi and get you guys talking! :)

500KV
02-17-2010, 12:39 PM
Hope you're not considering getting rid of the G19.
It would be a large step backwards, IMO.
You've got one of the best handguns out there.

Having said that, I personally like the .40 cal round.
The PM40 wont be a target gun but will be a great CCW piece.

You will get any number of "personal preference" recommendations, all of which will probably be valid.
I'm sure you'll like any of the Kahrs..Great little guns.

Good luck with your choice.:)

PETE14
02-17-2010, 12:58 PM
I have both a Glock 23 and a Kahr MK9 and because of the cost of the ammo I shoot the MK9 alot more. The Glock kicks alot more than the Kahr and both loaded they weigh close to the same.

I keep the Glock in the house for home protection (14 of .40 cal vs. 7 of 9mm in the Kahr) and I plan on using the Kahr for CCW. Kahr's are incredibly accurate for such small guns.