PDA

View Full Version : No Longer Shielded

mser
06-25-2012, 04:52 PM
For the past couple of months I switched back and forth in my carrying regimen between the PM9 and the Shield 9. I've carried the PM9 for almost ten years and have grown extremely fond of it while the Shield is a total newbie. After several hundred rounds I found the Shield to be a reliable performer and I really liked it, but I couldn't see anything that it did better than the PM9. It didn't do anything worse than the PM9, just not anything better either. So I advertised it for sale at a price $8 less than what I paid for it out the door. It sold in less than an hour.

Two days later I'm out of town accompanying my wife to a class she's instructing. While she's instructing I decided to visit the local gun shops and motorcycle dealerships. As I was making my way out of one of the gun shops after seeing all there was to see, or so I thought, I spied something out of the corner of my eye that looked interesting. Ten minutes later a Springfield XDs was following me out the door to its new home.

First range visit this afternoon. 50 rounds of Federal Champion with no malfunction. 35 rounds of Aguila with 2 light strikes, fired successfully on 2nd strike. 6 rounds of 200 grain +P GDHP with no malfunction.

(I also found a motorcycle I've been looking for but didn't have the guts to put down a deposit after all the money I've spent on firearms this year. I can't afford a decent divorce attorney on top of everything else :D)

Barth
06-25-2012, 06:06 PM
This whole XDs thingy is out of control.
I keep wanting one.
Then talk myself out of it.
I tell myself I've got a MK40 Elite.
5+1 all stainless micro 40 with a 3.0" barrel.
Glassy DA, 100% reliable with any HP (+1000 rounds) and deadly accurate at close range.
I think the Kahr is a little heavier, and maybe a little smaller, than the XDs???

But that XDs just keeps haunting me....

jeepster09
06-25-2012, 07:03 PM