PDA

View Full Version : New Member/New CM9/Range report

Cycletroll
09-16-2012, 03:42 PM
Hey gang, thought I would say hello as I am new to Kahrtalk.

I have been an avid shooter and reloader for about 20 years and have my NM CCW. I have owned and carried many pistols but was looking for a nice flat small 9mm to supplement my usual S&W 340 Centenial that is my lightweight carry when not carrying a Glock 19 or 32. I owned a stainless K40 back in the mid 90's but never really bonded with it.
Fast forward almost 20 years and the CM9/PM9 guns really seemed the best overall design for me for front pocket carry. I went ahead and bought the CM after much research and fondling of the two variants.

So what do I think?

After two initial range efforts here is my experience:

1st outing: 100 rounds of various target loads; about 50 rounds of Geco Swiss 124gr fmj and about 50 of a hand load 124gr moly FP over Longshot (probably 950fps out of the CM9). Also 6 rounds of 147gr Federal HST. All loads cycled great and shoot to point of aim. Very surprising how accurtate and easy to shoot this gun is. The HST made one ragged hole at 7 yes offhand.

2nd outing: Today extended session with chronograph results. Let me preface this with my amazement that every round cycled and every load was more than adequately accurate. My only issue was slightly riding the slide stop (I have big hands) causing the slide not to lock back on last round. easily corrected with attention to where I put my strong hand thumb.

Chrono results (6 shot strings 5900ft 58 degrees F):

-124gr berry PFP w 3.9gr Universal: 944fps (very soft load; brass 1' right)

-147gr Federal HST: 898fps (very accurate and soft shooting)

-Winchester Ranger Talon 127gr +p+(RA9TA): 1131fps (sd of 6fps!) a bit snappy but easily controllable even 1 handed . Was able to put 7 rounds rapidfire into a paper plate at 10 yards easily.

Winchester 147gr Bonded (RA9B): 887 (5fps sd!) quite accurate and very easy shooting.