PDA

View Full Version : Oklahoma open carry

mluikey
11-02-2012, 10:04 AM
The law went into affect yesterday Nov 1 at midnight. So today I opted to semi-open carry. I am carrying my K9 IWB appendix in a Dale Fricke Archangel. I am still wearing a cover garment except it is unbuttoned. So if it happens to blow open no visits from the police for brandishing.

I am not a huge proponent for open carry however it gives us a little freedom. I still plan on concealed carry 99.9% of the time but there may be an occasion when OC will happen.

Right now Oklahoma is a "shall issue" state in regards to concealed carry license and that is what will give you the opportunity to open carry (if you have the cc license). Next step is to try to get them to pass Constitutional carry, but I'm sure that is a ways off.

Knight92
11-02-2012, 10:50 AM
The really good thing was yesterday Tulsa had NO calls for Man with a gun! Just proves there will not be blood running through the streets as the opposition had said there would be with open carry.

I am very happy about the OC I like you don't have to worry about accidentally showing my gun to some one when I lean over etc.

Longitude Zero
11-02-2012, 11:05 AM
There were also NO calls for service on this matter in OKC. In fact all three channels were in Bricktown and found NOBODY open carrying. The only ones were a group that had publicized their intent and had breakfast just after midnight at a local restaurant.

mluikey I know personally many of the bills authors/supporters and Constitutional Carry is so far in the future we will probably all die of old age first.

The primary benefactors of this are the CCW who inadvertently expose their weapon. Under the current statute business need no longer post a no guns sign. They are allowed to handle it on a case by case basis.

mluikey
11-02-2012, 11:36 AM