PDA

View Full Version : New to the Kahr Family

MilesDavis
11-08-2012, 02:55 PM
Yesterday, after doing several weeks of research on the internet, I decided to buy my first handgun, a Karh CW9. I am a fairly experienced shotgun and rifle shooter. I am glad to be a part of the Kahr community and it seems like y'all really have a great thing going on here. I've already cleaned the gun as recommended by the proper prep of a new Kahr sticky, but being new to handguns, I am not crystal clear on how to disassemble the magazine to check the spring orientation, could someone walk me through the process? I know it probably seems like a stupid question, but I have no handgun experience and would rather not bugger my magazine up.

Other than that I CAN'T WAIT TO GET MY NEW BABY TO THE RANGE TOMORROW!

Tinman507
11-08-2012, 02:59 PM
Miles,

Look at the bottom of the mag. The baseplate has a little dimple/button
Press in on that and slide the baseplate forward. You'll see the spring begin to appear in the mag housing. BE CAREFUL. It will shoot out and become lost.
SLOWLY slide the baseplate off while holding your thumb over the hole where the spring is. Gently release the pressure off the spring. Set it aside and the follower should slide right out. Make note of the shape of the spring. It needs to parallel the angle of the housing on reassembly. Backwards will cause problems.

Hope that helps. Welcome to the Forum!

Bawanna
11-08-2012, 03:03 PM
Welcom Miles. Personally I'd not sweat the mag orientation thing unless you have issues but since you got all the way till tomorrow and it's a good way of bonding why not.

All you gotta do is push in on the little pin on the base of the mag. While pushing that in you can slide the base forward. Once it starts forward you don't have to hold the pin any longer.