PDA

View Full Version : Kahr problems

bwanatom
11-20-2012, 09:16 AM
To start with, I am new to Kahr Talk and look forward to the forum. Secondly, I feel you have to believe there are some inherent problems with the Kahr pistols to have so much talk about them in these regards. I have a Kahr PM9 with night sights that I really like, and shoot very accurately for a pocket gun. At self defense distance, about 10-15 feet, I can keep a 3 inch hole in the target, which is just fine for me. Just the same, I have encountered a couple issues that are the same as 'many' other Kahr owners have experienced. I feel all these people can't be wrong, which means that there is issues with this gun. I for one, don't like to carry my Kahr with one in the chamber. Many people don't like to carry with one in the chamber for safety sake, but probably most do. With this practice comes the problem of jams against the feed ramp when sling shotting the first round of a full mag into the chamber. Just like the videos, mine hangs up half the time and has to be forced into battery with a moderate palm heel strike. From then on it cycles reliably. There is an issue with this situation because so many owners have voiced similar concerns. I did have a failure to feed at my last range outing, for the first time in about 1000 rounds, but I think the mag wasn't locked into position or I accidentally hit the mag release button? I'm going back to the range and testing it again to see if this has any consistency, or it was my own fault for this failure.
Again, I love my Kahr but am concerned whether it will be there for me if I need it in a SD situation.
Tom

Bawanna
11-20-2012, 09:50 AM
Tom, Kahr specifically advises to load the chamber with the slide lock release, not to sling shot. That being said after break in and if properly executed it will sling shot just fine. I do mine all the time.