PDA

View Full Version : Maybe not a 1911?

Phillip
12-28-2012, 03:48 PM
I own a Sig C3 and a Colt Defender and three Kahr's(P9, PM9, P380). I decided today I was going to learn how the shoot and carry the C3 so I started practicing with my Browning Buck Mark drawing, disengaging the safety and firing two rounds as fast as I could. It wasn't a pretty sight. Something about that safety throws everything off so I'm back to carrying my trusty Kahr's for now.
At 54 years of age, can a dog learn new tricks or should I stay with the simplicity of not having a safety?
:confused:

MW surveyor
12-28-2012, 04:10 PM
Ah, wouldn't it be better to practice with what you are going to use/carry?

Bongo Boy
12-28-2012, 04:12 PM
All pros and cons of the 1911 aside, you can't let a single practice session determine the outcome. The safety would soon become so natural you would wonder why it was ever an issue. My recommendation would be a Kydex, IDPA compliant style holster for the Sig, and practice presenting--just draw and present the weapon, don't worry about shooting it and don't worry about the clock.

Yes, you can learn new stuff, and you'd better make yourself learn new stuff because it's fun and it's good for your brain. I'm 58 and learning the K40 is no two-week exercise. I've fired nearly 1,000 rds in it and haven't even gotten to know it yet--at least not for the purposes of CCW and personal defense.

For learning the C3, you have not only the safety but the weight, balance, grip and holster that are all changes your muscles have to learn to deal with. Imagine just before a match handing a top tennis professional a racket they'd not played before, or a top ranked golfer a new putter. What a predictable disaster.

Just remember the One Thing that remains constant regardless of platform, caliber, recoil or speed: while maintaining the sight picture sufficient to meet the need, press the trigger.