PDA

View Full Version : Kahr Esthetics

Erik KT
01-09-2013, 10:24 AM
I'll admit it, esthetics in guns might matter a bit too much to me. I guess it is true about other things too so it's just the way I am I suppose. I'm a graphic designer, so it's my job to scrutinize esthetics details all day, so that probably has something to do with it.

Anyway, I find the esthetics of the Kahr very pleasing overall, and that is why this one detail drives me a little nuts (It's not on all models but on P9 and others). That is the cut that runs on the top left edge of the slide from the front and almost all the way to the cocking serrations. The cut stats off going straight back, then takes a slight turn upward in the last third. This looks like a botched cut to me. LIke the slide came undone and shifted slimly during the cut. I don't know if this was an attempt to give a more dynamic and less boxy look, but to me it just doesn't make sense. Especially since you don't see this on on the other side due to the ejection port. So you end up with one straight line and one crocked.

Any one else feel like this?

I feel a silly bringing it up, but since this is a decorative cut, I think it is relevant to comment from a esthetic view point.

DeeDubya
01-09-2013, 10:47 AM
First off, looking at the left side, I like the angle turning up as it approaches the cocking serrations.

Then on the right the line runs out at the ejection port but "kind of" follows the same angle as it is replaced by the cut on the barrel chamber.

Never really considered all that, but yes it does certainly have more eye appeal than a Glock.

hardluk1
01-09-2013, 10:57 AM
I could careless how a firearm looks. Only that it serves my needs very well. Never looked to buy one because it was purty or it lines flowed nicely .Sorry

JohnR
01-09-2013, 11:13 AM
My job involves aesthetics too, so I completely understand your critical eye.

http://www.kahr.com/GetDynamicImage.aspx?path=P91676.jpg&h=326&w=278