PDA

View Full Version : Striker fired question

mikemc53
08-26-2013, 04:40 PM
OK, this may seem like a stupid question to those more experienced but here goes.

This CM9 is my first striker fired pistol, and overall I have little experience even with the hammer fired semi-autos that I own, so I was wondering:

Every time the slide is racked the striker is "staged" so to speak. When I am dry firing or just working the slide to break in the gun, do I need to pull the trigger every time the slide is racked? Or is it OK to rack the slide multiple times without releasing the striker? I'd hate to find out after the fact that I had caused some issues with the gun by not releasing the striker each time the slide was racked.

Also, I'm a snap cap guy, but from what I've read by Kahr it seems that dry firing is OK even without snap caps or dummy rounds...thoughts?

Thanks gang.

By the way...love this pistol so far.

scosgt
08-26-2013, 04:48 PM
You should be able to dry fire without any issues and there is no need to pull the trigger every time you rack the slide. Racking the slide makes the gun better, not worse.

dkmatthews
08-26-2013, 05:09 PM
You're not going to hurt it. Just enjoy it!

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk 4

ripley16
08-26-2013, 05:41 PM
Also, I'm a snap cap guy, but from what I've read by Kahr it seems that dry firing is OK even without snap caps or dummy rounds...thoughts?

Any pistol movement will wear and stress parts that are "snapped" together. That said; some guns are designed to allow dry firing more than others. Your Kahr must be dry fired every time you disassemble it.

Snap caps and dummy rounds are not the same thing. Snap caps are meant to have the firing pin strike it, dummy rounds not so.

CJB
08-26-2013, 06:41 PM
Snap caps are not needed.

The only firearms that "need" snap caps are some rimfire actions, and some shotgun actions.