PDA

View Full Version : feed ramp polish job

the hammer
08-31-2013, 11:36 PM
Just joined the forum so I thought Id give a my 2cents here on polishing feed ramps(and other parts you may like to like contact points. I recently have started doing this myself with all my guns but especially my handguns because Ive found it helps the feeding of rounds and makes it more smooth. But instead of going and finding some product at my local GS I used a polish(already on hand) called Mothers Mag and Alluminum Polish. 10oz for a few dollars will last for a long time.Anyway I was happy to see the results on both the metal injected parts as well as the SS ones on my cw9. Anyway I will post some pics at a later time since Im a newbie here now but would enjoy any thoughts or feedback you have to offer if any. thanks, the hammer

warbird1
08-31-2013, 11:46 PM
I've heard the Mothers Mag is good. I like Flitz myself...and welcome to the forum.

muggsy
09-01-2013, 10:21 AM
Both of my Kahr pistols came with highly polished feed ramps, so polishing wasn't necessary. Mother's makes a lot of good automotive polishes that can be used for a multitude of purposes. I too, am a Flitz man.

kerby9mm
09-01-2013, 01:13 PM
My mk9 & mk40 feedramps also came highly polished so all I do is after cleaning I use a little Liquid Flitz & cotton cloth to renew the shine.

berettabone
09-07-2013, 09:57 AM
I have polished the feed ramps on all of my firearms.................can't hurt...........use the Dremmel with a cone shaped felt attachment.

yqtszhj
09-07-2013, 10:09 PM
I use mothers for the final polish after 1000 and 1500 grit paper. puts a mirror shine on all contact parts.

And like you said it does improve feeding. I can slow rack my CW45 and CM9 after detail polishing every and all contact points.

Dirty Harry
09-08-2013, 06:01 AM
I use Mothers on a lot of things. It works great on hazzy car headlights too.

ripley16
09-08-2013, 07:27 AM