PDA

View Full Version : New CM9: is this pitting/flaking normal?

jps330
09-06-2013, 08:14 AM
First off, just want to say that I love this little gun. I just got done putting about 200 rounds through it and noticed what looks like pitting/flaking on the outside of the barrel and on the ejection port (see image link below). If I rub anything over these areas small flakes of metal will come off. Note that the gun has not been cleaned yet. Is this normal, or is this a problem with the plating on the metal?

http://imgur.com/a/j0E7k

RevRay
09-06-2013, 08:20 AM
I'm no expert since I've only had my Kahrs for a few months, but that doesn't look normal to me.

xsailer
09-06-2013, 08:21 AM
It looks like surface abrasion not metal flaking. Pretty sure this is normal wear caused by cycling if gun action. That's what I see in your pictures. My CM9 also has these "rub" markings.

kahrl
09-06-2013, 08:58 AM
I'm no expert since I've only had my Kahrs for a few months, but that doesn't look normal to me.
i'm with you, rev. that doesn't look good. mine shows contact in those areas, but it's polishing, not flaking. .02

jps330
09-06-2013, 09:02 AM
I just took it out to my local gunsmith and he said it was fine and that it looks like some kind of duracoat or something. Does this make sense? He literally took his fingernail to it and was able to scrape a huge amount of flakes off of it. It didn't right when he did it, but the metal finish under the flakes looks normal, so maybe he is right?

xsailer
09-06-2013, 09:08 AM
Re looked at the pictures again. Since the gun is brand new could the flaking be nothing more than the abraded build up of the new gun finish? I would think if the gun was cleaned and then at the next session of shooting it shows even more "flaking" my concerns would be more worrisome. Are the flakes hard or if you rub it between your fingers does it turn to a fine powder?

Bawanna
09-06-2013, 09:41 AM