PDA

View Full Version : Proper Prep Questions

cigarrodog
11-06-2013, 12:50 PM
I'm new to Karhr and want to do right by my PM9. Looking for some sage advice on two points of the proper prep. First, with regards to cleaning, I generally employ Hitchcock45's method of not using anything but brushes and alcohol when cleaning strikers,etc. No oil. I either use Ballistol on the Glocks or Eezox on the Seecamp with some TW25 on the lube points. The Kahr pre-prep says spray the hole with cleaner. Does that mean mean spray with something like Ballistol into the hole?

As for polishing the feed ramp. which Dremel, attachment, and Polish is recommended? Or should I bother with this as I have not used one before. I pick up pretty quick, but I don't want to hurt my new treasure. Thank you.

jocko
11-06-2013, 02:40 PM
any guhn spray cleaner will keep that channel clean. I personally use the 3M prodeuct sold as parts cleaner. It is non chororinated, so it harms no polymer and dries instantly and there is no lubricant in it. Works great in the striker channel if u use that little clean out hole on thge bottom of the slide. I polish my feed ramp with a dremel aqnd a cotton end peace and flitz or just the fine polishig compound that dremel sells even. Again ur just polishing, not emoving anything. Some just use some 600-800 grit paper and it willdo the sae thing.

welcome aboard, u got a dandy gun in the PM9. IMO the best of the kahrs U can buy CRC spray cleaner at wal mart and it willwork just as good as the 3M brandthatI buy at Napa. Both are just alot cheaper than gun sprays like gunslick or otters or any of the utters, but if you feel better using something that says for gun, then do it. I think the 3M is the most powerful spray out of a can I have ever used. It willblow sh!tout of areas that you never could see or brush out.

Bawanna
11-06-2013, 03:17 PM