PDA

View Full Version : cw9 sight question and grips

borg18
02-10-2014, 12:58 PM
hi all, my first time posting so please bear with me..i have a cw9 purchased a couple of monthes ago new. well, ive been to the range a few times and seem to have it shooting all over. im not a pro by no means, but i can keep a decent group with other guns i own (40s&w and a 357 revolver). i was told by kahr that the sights are set to a 6 oclock hold at 7 yards, but no matter where i try to hold , i can never get the bullet to go near my point of aim. any ideas? im pretty sure its something i must be doing...but not sure what.
Also, the grip i noticed was very abrasive...i work for toyota and my hands are pretty rough so i was pretty shocked with my palm and how red it was..lol...i ordered a set of rubber talon grips, are these the grip of choice? do they have any issues with pealing once applied?

muggsy
02-10-2014, 02:21 PM
The red hands are a great clue. When you are caught red handed it means that the gun is moving around in your hands. Try to get a better grip. Kahr pistols have combat sights. The dot should sit just over the bar and the dot should cover your intended point of impact. Target sight use a six o'clock hold. It takes time to get use to the long double action revolver like trigger pull. There are a lot of good instructional how to shoot videos on You Tube. Try watching a few before your next range trip.

addictedhealer
02-10-2014, 05:05 PM
I use talon rubber grips and love them. Carry everyday all day and have yet to peel.

Use a tight thumbs forward grip. One thing that might help is and this helped a friend of mine on his kahr. Paint with a marker the front dot black. Sometimes it can distract the eye. I swapped my sights out for a 3 dot tritium because I just couldn't get use the that style of sight.

Keep shooting, sometimes a long trigger takes a little extra working getting proficient.

bob98366
02-10-2014, 11:09 PM