PDA

View Full Version : New CW9 ammo suggestions?

yoyomeng
05-26-2010, 03:45 PM
Just picked up a new CW9 and I'm wondering what are some ammo brands/types I should be looking at. I'm new to handguns and get confused beyond FMJ and hollow point nomenclature.:confused::confused:

I almost grabbed some WWB (white box??) just to go shooting with but wanted to learn some stuff before I did.

Looking for suggestions target and defense rounds.

Thanks.

DKD
05-26-2010, 04:01 PM
Just load up any standard brand of FMJ {Full Metal Jacket} and break her in with that fodder.Then after about 200 rounds clean her up and go to a few carry degensive type hollow points. Hornady crtical defense, and Speer Gold Dots are a good solid loadings. runn afew different makes and see how they feed and print on paper. In 9mm I prefer the 115 grainers and 124 graners...try and keep the velocity up for better expansion performance.

Bawanna
05-26-2010, 04:05 PM
Just picked up a new CW9 and I'm wondering what are some ammo brands/types I should be looking at. I'm new to handguns and get confused beyond FMJ and hollow point nomenclature.:confused::confused:

I almost grabbed some WWB (white box??) just to go shooting with but wanted to learn some stuff before I did.

Looking for suggestions target and defense rounds.

Thanks.

Many folks here use the WWB white box for range sessions. There's a plethora of options and personal opinions out there. For range I look for cheap but reliable. I reload so I don't look for range ammo much. Anything FMJ or ball ammo will do. If you plan to reload stick with a brass case over say the blazer aluminum. Look under the ammunition threads and you'll see alot of discussion on this. For carry ammo you need to be a bit more selective. You need to test and make sure it works flawlessly. Stick with name brand stuff. I like Speer Gold Dot, some prefer Winchester or Golden Sabre. Lots of choices that could be discussed and argued pros and cons all day long.