PDA

View Full Version : New member from north Texas

W5JCK
02-15-2014, 11:18 AM
Hello everyone. I just joined the forum. W5JCK is my amateur radio (ham) call sign. My name is Jack. I've been shooting for over four decades now. I just took the Texas CHL course and filed myTexas CHL application a few weeks ago. Hopefully my CHL will be issued in 2 to 3 months.

My first semi-auto pistol way back in the 1970s was a Series 70 Colt 1911 .45. Hard to beat the old Browning design that keeps working well after more than a century later. The guy was a genius for the 1911 as well as so many other guns he designed.

I've pretty much been a Glock guy since the early 1990s. I've owned a bunch of them over the years. I currently have a Glock 19 Gen4.

Anyway, I just bought my first Kahr this week, a CW9. Cabelas in Fort Worth had them on sale for $349.99. It is perhaps the best fitting handgun to my hand I've ever owned. It reminds me a lot of the 1911 style pistols, but a lot safer to carry IMO. I haven't made it to the range yet, but I've followed many suggestions on this and other Kahr forums. I disassembled the CW9 and cleaned it well and lubricated it well. I have racked the slide 200+ times to help break in that super strong spring! That really helped a lot BTW. I then disassembled it again and cleaned and lubricated it again. I can't wait to take it to the range. I really love that trigger and the feel of the CW9 in my hand.