PDA

View Full Version : New guy - Michigan - Deciding on first handgun

GoBang
03-15-2014, 06:49 PM
I'm a newbie to the board and a newbie to handguns. I'm married, have 2 kids, and work as a data analyst.

I'm deciding on my first pistol but am 85% convinced I want a Kahr in .40 S&W. While I would love to get a premium model in the future, my first purchase would be either a CW40 or one of the new CT40s.

I also plan to run 180gr ammo in it, unless that presents some kind of a problem for Kahr guns (in which case I'd use 165, nothing lighter).

I realize this is a lot to decide when I haven't fired one of them, but I *am* a data analyst, after all!

So hi everyone. I hope this begins a long run of ownership of Kahr firearms.

berettabone
03-15-2014, 07:13 PM
Welcome.................40 cal. is my favorite caliber to shoot, but not everyone likes it, due to the snappiness of the round. I would suggest that you go, if possible, and try out as many firearms, and calibers that you can find. You wouldn't go and purchase an automobile without test driving it first. You need to find a comfortable, shootable firearm for you. I own 9mm, .40 cal. and .45 cal....the recoil of .40 cal. can be pretty snappy, depending on the firearm, but a lot of .45 shooters will tell you that .45 has less recoil than .40. If you have a local place where you can handle numerous firearms, semi's, revolvers etc., you'll find something that feels right. We all do;) Most of us, more than once;) There is a segment of people out there, that regret their first purchase, because they didn't take their time, and check out many different firearms. Get ahead of the learning curve. The more you can see and feel, the better your decision will be. If you don't have anywhere close, try to find someone you know, who is an owner, that can steer you in the right direction.

kerby9mm
03-15-2014, 07:25 PM
Hi there Go Bang. I'm in Michigan the Livonia/ Farmington area. How about your location.

GoBang