PDA

View Full Version : Cm9 after 1 year

dohcacr
04-27-2014, 11:45 AM
I bought my CM9 last April, and it's been my ccw for the last year. I try to shoot it as much as I can, while giving equal time to My G26 and my Sarsilmaz K2p. At this time I've put about 500 rounds through the Kahr with zero failures, but I've never really felt that good about MY performance with the CM9. On a scale of 1-10 the CM9 earns a 10, while I'm lucky to earn a 7. What's really frustrating is that I've been shooting 9mm for almost 20 years, and up until today I felt like my skills were getting worse instead of better. Like most new CM9 shooters I have been shooting consistently low, blaming it on my technique(not the Kahr), but still feeling I could stop a bad guy if the need arose.

I shoot at my neighbors backyard range, a couple times a month, and always leave feeling good about the experience, but feeling I should have shot better. That is until today. Today I feel like I made a breakthrough. My goals for today were to sight in the K2P, which always takes me more ammo than it should. So I put 40 rounds through the K2P, 10 through the G26, and 10 through the Kahr.

Today was the first time I tried to shoot the Kahr with a smooth double action trigger pull, and I'm blown away by the results. The first 5 rounds through the Kahr were equally consistant, but were fired into to a badly shot up target so it would prove nothing to post it. The second 5 rounds target is posted below. The squares are 7/8", the distance 9 yds, and the CM9 fired from a bench rest. I'm so tickled with the results that I'm going to the switch to the smooth DA trigger pull technique on the Glock and SAR K2P as well. Please forgive an old man for bragging, it's not often that I have reason.:D

https://copy.com/t418I6eUtvRM

Rubb
04-27-2014, 12:29 PM
nice shooting!

Cubby
04-27-2014, 01:04 PM
So what were you trying to do? Stage the trigger?

dohcacr
04-27-2014, 01:43 PM