PDA

View Full Version : CT 40 Issues

renothecat
08-20-2014, 06:02 AM
Newbie here to the forum - but not to Kahr's. I now have 3. I recently bought the CT 40. The first 200 rounds were an exercise in frustration. After EVERY round I had to hit the back of the slide for the round to fully chamber. I never had any break-in issues with my CW 9 or CW 45 but this one was awful. But it did go away (for the most part) after the first 200 rounds. Then I noticed that my point of impact was way off from point of aim. On a bench rest at 10 yards it was 1" right and 2" high. I was able to tap the rear sight and get it centered but have no clue what to do about it shooting high. Aiming 2" low all the time kinda sucks. Anyone have this issue? I've emailed Kahr directly and they want me to send it back for inspection -and to this point they also want me to pay for postage which I don't think is right since the gun is brand new and less than 30 days old. So - hopefully they do the right thing here. In the meantime, curious if anyone else has had a similar experience. Thanks!

berettabone
08-20-2014, 07:14 AM
Welcome.................I noticed that my MK9 shoots low.......................I just raise the front sight up a tad. Before I start tinkering with sights, I will adjust to the firearm first................all sights are different.

hardluk1
08-20-2014, 09:48 AM
Did you check that the ammo fits in the barrels chamber correctly?? Did you do a plunk and rotate test. Same ammo used in other kahrs?? I like to have different brands , even a quality carry ammo to try early on like a speer gd 165 or 155gr. I could say the shooting high right was do to stress and new pistol trigger.

I have a tp40 than a sweet heart and never fired a 180gr load, only 155gr 165gr . I have read that the 45s can be OAL picky. Some ammo is just to long for them.

BucketBack
08-30-2014, 07:24 AM
1" right and 2" high @10 yards is called a bullseye by me. A.K.A. Center Mass.

hardluk1
08-30-2014, 09:30 AM