PDA

View Full Version : Sudden extraction issue with my MK9

TexasK9
12-07-2010, 07:24 PM
I recently had a chance to play with my favorite off duty mk9. I have had this gun for over a year and had never had an issue until yesterday. Shooting from a distance of 15 yrds using both hands, i had a series of 3 stove pipes and one double feed.
When i first put the gun through its first 200 rounds i had only one stove pipe which was my fault shooting off hand, but nothing like this. I'm really concern. The ammo used was department practice ammo winchester fmj 124 grain.
Cleaned the gun out and will try again this week. If anyone has had similiar issues and how they fixed the problem plz let me know.

DasFriek
12-07-2010, 10:52 PM
Its slow over here in the MK sections at times, But eventually they stumble over here in a stuper and always give good advice.
Im new to the MK9, But not semi auto's.

If your stove pipe happens and a new round is also half inserted into the chamber when it happens, Below would be my best guess.
If i was having those issues id first look into my extractor. Look for a disassembly guide and take it apart for a thorough cleaning and check for issues.
It sounds like the extractor is gunked up and not letting the round go and the slide is catching it on its way back while stripping off a new round and then jamming.

If your getting stove pipes where the old round is ejected fine and the new round thats live gets stove piped and doesn't get chambered its most likley a weak mag spring not pushing the round up fast enough to get the round under the extractor correctly.
Also a weak recoil spring could cause this type of stove pipe as your slide is moving too fast for the mag to feed the round under the extractor correctly. Inspect your magazines feed lips and make sure they aren't spread out and stretched.