PDA

View Full Version : K9 vs K9 Elite

KahrKeys
01-04-2011, 10:16 AM
Here's the story. I'm a gun owner but have always purchased full size but now am looking for a concealed carry in 9mm that's not too small (I've tested the PM9 but I've got big hands and it just didn't feel right in my hand). I've been prowling forums, doing research, and debating for a few months now and have finally settled on the Kahr K9. My last debate is whether to get the K9 or the Elite version.

So far it sounds like I'm dropping over $100 for a better trigger in the Elite - a trigger which is on every other Kahr gun now except the standard K9. Is this correct? Also - and this is for people who have owned or shot both the K9 and the Elite - is it worth the difference? Has anyone switched from the standard K9 to the Elite because of the trigger?

1 more thing. Looking at the Kahr site I'm already 99% sure of my answer. Does the Elite come in anything but polished? If I go Elite I would love to have it in black, but I don't think Kahr makes them that way (yet).

Thanks for your help!

jocko
01-04-2011, 10:27 AM
kahrkeys:

PM sent..

ripley16
01-04-2011, 11:05 AM
I'm picky about the trigger. I did not especially like the trigger on my standard K9. My newer K9 has the Elite trigger and I like it much more, maybe because it is the same as my other Kahr triggers. My K9 has the best, smoothest trigger of the bunch. My K9 was retrofitted from the standard to an elite, the exchange done by Kahr's customer service.

Is the effort and expense to swap triggers worth it? I would say yes. Having the elite trigger is what sold me on the gun.

If you want black then you have two choices; buy a standard black K9 and switch the triggers, or buy a K9 Elite and have it refinished.

KahrKeys
01-29-2011, 08:54 AM