PDA

View Full Version : MK9 and Federal Ammo?

hussky
02-19-2011, 04:46 PM
All i shoot is Federal Champion 115 Grain FMJ RN ($10.50 a box) in my MK9. what i am hoping to do is practice at 25 yards. I have read were some guys can hit a 6" paper plate at 25 yards. is this possible for the average person or do you have to be expert? Is the Federal ammo accurate? If not what is better For target practice? Thank you Hussky

jocko
02-19-2011, 05:31 PM
I am no expert and I have shot over 30,000 rounds through my PM9. I truly love this gun, but I cannot hit a 6" paper palte at 25 yards, no way HOSE, just can't do it. Federal ammo is good ammo, so it won[t be the ammo's fault if you don't hit at 25 yards. These are close up personal guns, with a very loooooong but smooth trigger system. One of the smoothest triggers on the market but still looooooong by most standards. That is where the accuracy will fall off,if its gonna happen. The gun can do it, just most shooters cannot.

I would suggest getting damn good and damn fast at 7 yards and under, Get used to POA shooting, seeing that front sight clearly and everything else will fallin place. If you want to hit beer cans at 25 yards, then IMO get another gun for that stuff. No insult being thrown here either, just speaking the truth from my standpoint. Your threat will not be at 25 yards my friend, so get good where percentages will show that you need to be good..

hussky
02-19-2011, 06:05 PM
I am no expert and I have shot over 30,000 rounds through my PM9. I truly love this gun, but I cannot hit a 6" paper palte at 25 yards, no way HOSE, just can't do it. Federal ammo is good ammo, so it won[t be the ammo's fault if you don't hit at 25 yards. These are close up personal guns, with a very loooooong but smooth trigger system. One of the smoothest triggers on the market but still looooooong by most standards. That is where the accuracy will fall off,if its gonna happen. The gun can do it, just most shooters cannot.