PDA

View Full Version : First Kahr, MK9 with FTE troubles, advice?

xaman
05-08-2011, 02:22 PM
Hello,

I'm brand new to the world of Kahr -- just picked up my first, a second hand MK9, hoping to replace my Glock 26 with something a little easier to conceal in summer wear but still decent to take to the range. It feels great in hand, shoots well (even though the long smooth trigger is going to take a little getting used to) and carries like a dream. I really want to carry this gun.

Reliability is a problem. The previous owner said it was perfect after break-in. I cleaned it before the first range trip, where I put 120 rounds through with 3 FTEs and one slide lock back with rounds still in the mag.

Second range trip was yesterday, with some different ammo. 130 rounds, 3 more FTE and one more premature slide lock back.

Ammo so far was:
50 rounds Wolf steel cased (I've since realized Kahr says avoid steel cased)
150 rounds.Dynamic Nobel (GECO) 124 gr.
50 rounds Federal FMJ
(I also ran just 2 clips of some Winchester +p hollow points, no problems)

The malfunctions are stovepipes, every time (except the slide locking back prematurely, which I'm willing to accept as user error for now). I don't believe I could be limpwristing though, there's something else wrong. They all were the same, I should have taken a picture, the spent case got pinched between the slide and barrel. This is a bit disheartening.

Also, it came with two mags, the 6 and the 7 rounder, the stovepipes happen with both.

This morning I did a detailed slide strip and clean, looking for anything out of the ordinary and snapped a few bad pics. I'm not sure you can see anything, as I'm a terrible photographer, but here goes: