PDA

View Full Version : Breaking In My New PM45

Tug Brown
12-07-2009, 09:10 PM
Hello Forum,

This is my first post. I am a US Army veteran with renewed interest in weapons. For years I had a 9mm short (.380 ACP) sitting in the closet with only 50 rounds fired through it. I learned about Kahrs earlier in the year and purchased a PM9. I have put as much as 600 rounds though that weapon finding it very reliable. I have yet to learn to shoot it with excellent marksmanship, but it is coming along. I have been using the PM9 as my carry weapon.

Recently I bought a 1911 .45acp, but it's too large to carry the way I want to carry, yet I like the .45 caliber for its projectile size/force.

Enter the PM45. I purchased my PM45 from a gentleman who is a "Colt guy". For some reason he didn't like the PM45 having only put 20 rounds through it. Each to his own, I guess. Anyway this is a "Black Diamond" model with standard sights. Actually I find it "dirty" looking and like the appearance of the SS PM9 that I have better. However, "looks" don't put projectiles down range.

I fired approximately 235 rounds through the PM45 today. 80 rounds were WWB 230gr, (3) were WWB 230gr holow points and the rest were Remington UMC 230gr.

Early on, I was disappointed to find malfunction after malfunction in the operation of this new weapon. The first problem occurred at or near the end of the first magazine when the casing locked into the slide with the primer end jammed against the magazine. I couldn't drop the magazine or work the slide. I had to use the handle of my knife to loosen the casing and put it into a "stove pipe" to get motion to remove the magazine and eject the casing. This occurred no less than eight or nine times with two or three actual "stove pipes". In all a total of 11 FTE. WWB = 7, UMC = 4

I also experienced seven FTF. WWB = 5 UMC = 2.