PDA

View Full Version : P40 experience Part 1

knkali
06-16-2011, 08:09 AM
I am new to Kahr and documenting my experience with the gun from start to first firing at the range.

Originally when I went to the shop to look at the P40, I was dissapointed with the gun. I thought it looked cheap. This view was born by trying many of the guns they had at the shop and most of them had mags that stuck when the mag release button was pushed, the rear sight mark on the gun I selected has the hash mark on the rear sight a scootch off to the left from center, and I am not used to holding plastic( there I said it). I liked the size/weight of the gun so much, I found one that did not have a sticky mag release and purchased it.

I picked it up yesterday and at home, I went through the sticky on preparing the gun before taking it to the range.

Since the gun was so oily, I skipped taking it apart. Instead, I started racking the slide. After about 20 or 30 rackings, I noticed more oil leaking out of the gun. I wiped it up and I started to cycle ammo through the gun without firing. Since this action can be dangerous, I made sure I was doing this slowly and without distractions ( empty house) and always pointing the gun in the corner of the house I was willing to repair if needed.

I have to admit that after approx 300 cycles of loading a round, ejecting and dry firing after the sixth, the gun feels much different--better. The slide is much smoother, the trigger pull is smoother too. The magazine needed to be broken in too. At first, the six round mag was very hard to load. Now it is much easier.

I have much more appreciation for this gun. It is much smoother but still very tight. This tightness it has now feels more like quality. In fact, after 500 rnds at the range it will probably feel even better.

I will try it at the range either tonight or tomorrow and give my report as part 2.

Thanks for reading