PDA

View Full Version : Spring replacement

mintjulepwithrice
06-26-2011, 11:06 PM
Hello all, first post here. :yo: I'm a relative noob and am just getting around to replacing the recoil spring on my K9. I've got 7000 rounds or so out of the first one (oops) with no problems. I ordered the full maintenance spring kit from Kahr and am awaiting arrival this week. The recoil spring is a no brainer. What about the rest? The gun has performed flawlessly despite running dirty ammo sometimes and being lazy about the recoil spring. Do I need to replace any other springs from that kit? If so, I hear that you guys have some videos around here showing how to achieve these complex tasks. I used the search function but could not find them. :der: I also hear that some of you have crafted "special tools" to handle these tasks out of common household items. Please do tell. It's about time I learn how to do maintenance stuff beyond cleaning on my own guns. I'm sure I will need some help.

Thanks in advance (and hi, Mr. Toad, I added a beverage ;))

jocko
06-27-2011, 03:11 AM
leave the rest alone, it ain't broke don't fix it. recoil springs are all that is necessary, put those other parts in ur parts box. 7000rounds is nothing for that gun.

Some will replace the striker spring and if u think u need to do kthat (which u doh;'t) then there is a tutorial in the kahr tech section that will show you how to do it with ease. I have a K9 with about 5000+ rounds through it and a PM9 with over 32,000 rounds and I have never changed any springs other than recoil springs. IF IT AIN'T BROKE DON'T FIX IT..

jlottmc
06-27-2011, 08:05 AM
Go with what the old man said. He's right (can't believe I just said THAT).

jocko
06-27-2011, 08:54 AM
who u talking about "boy"???

ripley16
06-27-2011, 01:02 PM
Hello all, first post here.

Welcome to the forum.