PDA

View Full Version : Is this normal or do I need a Fluff-n-Buff

RiskPro
01-02-2010, 10:16 PM
Broke the CW9 in with 500 FMJ rounds the other day and it was flawless. Not one F2F or F2E. Very pleased with the accuracy as well.

Only thing is that when chambering a round I really need to pull the slide all the way back and let it slap hard to get a round in. I thought this would pass after breaking it in. However, it seems like the initial chambering round gets hung on the feed ramp.

But once it is in all is well. My others, Glock, Colt, etc feed on in well without having to really slap the round home with the Slide.

So, is this normal or should I pull out the Dremel and polish the feed ramp?

fitzgood
01-02-2010, 10:28 PM
I am new to Kahrs but one thing I read is that the PM9 does not like to be "sligshot". In other words, they want you use the slide release to chamber the first round instead of pulling back the slide and letting it go. I have no idea if the same applies to the CWs but I am sure others here will.

mr surveyor
01-02-2010, 10:57 PM
the "fluff and buff" is a KelTec thing.... you don't need to consider that for the nickle plated ramp and chamber of the Kahr pistols.

Yes, Kahr recommends charging the handgun with the slide lock back of the first round, but I'd be willing to bet that after a few hundred rounds you can slingshot, as long as its a full retraction and no slide riding. My CW9 has been flawless out of the box, and I have never had to charge it from slide lock, but I always have full retraction and never ride the slide on any of my pistols.

Give it time, and you may be pleasantly surprised. But, forget the whole "F&B" idea as it's NOT even applicable.

surv

hdawson
01-03-2010, 08:04 AM
Read the owner's manual. Clearly says to use the slide release. Clearly.:cool:

jfrey
01-03-2010, 09:31 AM