PDA

View Full Version : Browning tilting barrel design

olympicmotorcars
11-29-2011, 07:34 PM
Can anyone tell me why the Browning tilting barrel deIsign works like it does?
Does the barrel tilt to aid in the rounds feeding into it from the magazine?
Is this design inherently superior to the straight blowback design?
Why are the barrel and slide locked together for a short distance during recoil? It looks like the straight blowback design is usually only found on very small calibers, Is this correct?

I was just curious, cannot find anyone local to really give me a straight answer on this.

thanks, happy holidays everybody.

JFootin
11-29-2011, 08:09 PM
I am not an expert, but I have some thoughts:

The barrel and slide stay locked for a while so the bullet has time to exit the barrel, along with the majority of the smoke and fire.
As the barrel drops, it redirects some of the recoil down where it is absorbed into the heart of the frame, greatly reducing recoil and muzzle flip.
Yes, the strait blowback design is used almost exclusively in smaller calibers, with the recoil spring and the inertia of the slide absorbing the recoil. A strait blowback gun in a larger caliber would be very unpleasant to shoot, with excessive recoil and muzzle flip.
And, yes, the tilt probably helps rounds feed into the barrel. Not absolutely necessary, as can be seen with strait blowback designs, but maybe it helps with longer high caliber bullets.

An incredible stroke of brilliance by John Browning. JMHO.

OldLincoln
11-29-2011, 08:27 PM